What we eat – Zucchini and Corn ‘Cake’.

After my laptop had a mishap with a cup of herbal tea at the very start of October all my blogging dreams for the month flew out the window and I resigned myself to a very quiet Down Syndrome Awareness Month blog-wise. And so it was, I had the ability to copy and paste other people’s stories and so I posted a few of those with their permission, but otherwise I just focused on an instagram post every day. And I did manage to get my #31for21 out! 

Over the last few days I have had to figure out a way to type up large amounts of text without my laptop, and my husband pointed out that I could actually use the iPad. Yup, I hadn’t actually thought of that! And today I discovered the WordPress App was also available on iPad (Again, yes. Cut me some slack, I only got an iPad after I had children, which means I’ve never used it for any decent length of time!) so here I am! Cup of tea in hand, one child asleep and the other suitably occupied – I’m going to write a little blog post!
Ever since I posted my blog about Baby Led Weaning I have intended on posting some recipes to give a better idea of what it is that I feed my kids. As I have coeliac disease and Elva projectile vomits if she eats gluten we don’t keep anything glutenous in the house. Elva also appears to be intolerant to dairy proteins, so nothing I make contains dairy (though we do have some dairy in the house and those that can eat it do when it is the healthier option – ie. butter rather than nuttelex). We aim to eat minimal refined sugar, avoid soy (with a couple of exceptions), and make ethical choices about our food wherever possible (ie properly free-range eggs, preferably from my parents chooks). Making ethical choices isn’t just better for the animals, it’s also better for us as well. Hens that are given the opportunity to scratch and forage eat a wider variety of foods and consequently lay eggs that have better nutritional value.

So, what do we eat? I do a fair bit of baking for breakfasts, lunches and snacks. I usually supplement these with raw foods comprised of nuts, seeds and dried fruits, however my lovely high powered blender is currently waiting on a replacement part. Dinners are often curries, salads, pasta dishes, or slow cooked meats and roasted veggies. The recipe I am posting today is a very quick and simple baked slice which would make a good light lunch or after-school snack (a 2-for-1 deal if you can time it right!)

Zucchini and Corn Slice

Yup, it’s a terrible photo taken in artificial lighting with my iPad. It was a choice between not posting anything, and using a terrible photo. YOLO.

Ingredients

  • 100g flour (I used Orgran GF SR Flour blend)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp each of ground paprika, cumin and coriander seed
  • 4 eggs
  • 120g coconut oil, melted
  • 1 420g can of corn, drained
  • 1 med zucchini, grated (about 1 1/2 – 2 cups)
  • Pinch salt and pepper (optional depending on age of baby)

Method

  1. Heat oven to 180C (160C for fan-forced). If not using silicon slice tray, oil tray.
  2. Combine dry ingredients (don’t forget salt and pepper if using). Whisk in eggs, then oil til mixture is smooth.
  3. Mix through corn and zucchini until distributed throughout the mixture.
  4. Pour into slice tray and bake for 45 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the centre of slice comes out clean.
  5. Eat! Good with sweet chilli sauce.

Do you like to bake? What is your go-to simple lunch? Have you tried this recipe? Let me know in the comments below!

K x

Leave a Reply

